– I was lucky enough to be a guest at Josh Holloway’s appearance with acting coach Tom Ardavany in Santa Monica, Ca on Tuesday night ( July 28th, 2009).

Josh Holloway with Tom Ardavany

Josh Holloway with Tom Ardavany

And what a cool 2 hour event it was.  I was about 25 feet from Josh himself (At one point he did walk by me to use the facilities).  But it hit me more when I got home that I actually was able to see up close my favorite actor and character on Lost.  His entrance was that of man who is proud and more than excited to share his insight with up and coming actors.  He wasn’t like a celebrity who thought he was doing us a favor for being there.  He wasn’t like let’s get this over with.  Josh would have stayed another hour if it was up to him.  He was exceptional.  One of the nicest actors I have ever met.  And yes ladies, he is as sexy in person as you would believe.  but from a guy’s perspective, he’s a mans man, cooler than the other side of the pillow.

 

Josh set the tone and was a joy to hear speak.  He comes off as very thankful for success.  He is very humble.  Before Josh came out, they played the final piece of the “Incident” scene before and after Jack drop the nuke into the swan tunnel.  Josh came out soon after.  His entrance was just that : a presence of stardom.  He took over the room without effort.  He pointed in the crowd to some old friends that he hadn’t seen since his early days of acting class.   Josh talked about his acting appraoch in doing intense  scenes,  what the Lost set is like (laughter, scrabble and farts),  he explained in detail his scene with Elisabeth Mitchell, talked about what to expect if you are a guest star on Lost, lack of rehearsal time, protecting yourself on the set, responsibility of Jack Bender as a director, his new baby, life after Lost, and much much more.

Listen to my podcast as I give my recount the evening and answer the question,  Who is Josh Holloway? :

HEATH SOLO’S NIGHT WITH JOSH HOLLOWAY

 

Josh event three8764

Josh, Tom and student.

 

 I was so eager to talk about Josh in my podcast that I edited some great comments out about actor/coach Tom Ardavany.  After listening to the podcast,  I realized that I totally left out some important stuff about Tom.  Coming tomorrow will be my write up on what I learned. I suggest you attend one of Tom’s actor series specials as you can learn so much about the world of being an actor.  Tom, thank you so much for the opportunity.